Conductor’s Corner

Welcome to Conductor’s Corner!

    In this recurring section I introduce the major composers and their works that are featured during the CYS season. Detailed program notes, commentary, Q&A, and audio clips presented here will enhance your enjoyment of the music as well as enrich your understanding of the composers and their lives and careers. Enjoy!

Very fondly yours,

Leo Eylar

Belá Bartók (1881-1945)
Dance Suite

Johannes Brahms  (1833-1897)
Double Concerto

Sergei Rachmaninov  (1873-1943)
Symphonic Dances

Maurice Ravel  (1875-1937)
Daphnis et Chloé, Suites 1 and 2

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Symphony No. 1

Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)
Symphony No. 1

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
Firebird Suite (1919)