Maurice Ravel

(1875 - 1937)

Rapsodie espagnole

(1907 - 1908)

piano version / orchestral version


Rapsodie espagnole marks Ravel’s first truly important full-scale orchestral work. The piece is based on models by Rimsky-Korsakov (Capricco espagnole-1888) and Chabrier (Espana-1883), two works which CYS has often performed.  Once again we see Ravel’s fascination and indebtedness to all things Spanish.

The brief instrumental solos in the first movement (heard here) clearly derive from Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio espagnole. The piano version is actually for piano four-hand as opposed to solo piano. CYS performed this work last season.

piano version

orchestral version